newsdog Facebook

Rajasthan Rajya Sabha elections: Dr. Manmohan Singh, CM Gehlot to file nominations today

News Track 2019-08-13 11:00:00

Jaipur: The nomination process for the Rajya Sabha by-election in Rajasthan has begun. Former PM Dr. Manmohan Singh will file his nomination today. Dr. Manmohan Singh will reach Jaipur at 10:15 pm. He will be received at the airport by Cm Ashok Gehlot and other Congress leaders. State Congress in-charge Avinash Pandey will also be present on the occasion.

Dr. Manmohan Singh will file his nomination at 11:00 AM. Rajasthan has 10 Rajya Sabha seats. A Rajya Sabha seat has been vacated from Rajasthan following the death of state BJP President Madan Lal Saini. The BJP has the remaining 9 seats in the state. In this one-seat by-election, the Congress is seen to be in a big way. The Congress candidate needs the support of 100 MLAs to win. In the current Assembly, the Congress has the support of 12 independents, 6 BSP, 2 BTP, 1 RLD and 1 CPM MLA in addition to its 100 MLAs.

The BSP has announced its support to the Congress for the Rajasthan Rajya Sabha by-election. Rajasthan BSP legislature party leader Lakhan Singh announced this in a statement on Monday. Lakhan Singh said that the BSP will support the Congress candidate in the election for a Rajya Sabha seat in the state.