newsdog Facebook

6 Candidates, Including Vaiko, Anbumani Ramadoss Elected Unopposed to Rajya Sabha from Tamil Nadu

NYOOOZ 2019-07-11 05:30:00

Chennai: Six candidates, including MDMK chief Vaiko and PMK's Anbumani Ramadoss, were on Thursday elected unopposed in the biennial elections to Rajya Sabha from Tamil Nadu.
Returning Officer and Secretary, Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly Secretariat, K Srinivasan, announced here that Vaiko, DMK's M Shanmugam and P Wilson, AIADMK's N Chandrasekaran and A Mohammedjan, and Ramadoss were elected unopposed.
As per the provisions of the Representation of People's Act and other relevant rules, they were elected unopposed, he said.
Similarly, Vaiko and nominees from the DMK called on party chief M K Stalin.
The AIADMK and the DMK allotted one Rajya Sabha seat each to allies PMK and MDMK respectively as part of an electoral pact ahead of the Lok Sabha elections.