newsdog Facebook

Pakistan recalls Amir for 3-test series against South Africa

Sportskeeda 2018-12-07 16:56:17

ISLAMABAD (AP) — Pakistan recalled fast bowler Mohammad Amir on Friday for the three-test series in South Africa starting this month.

Fakhar Zaman and Shan Masood were also picked as Pakistan looks for an opening batsman to partner Imam-ul-Haq.

Opener Mohammad Hafeez will retire from test cricket on Friday when the series against New Zealand in the United Arab Emirates ends.

Amir has been left out of the squad since before the Asia Cup in the UAE in September, and was not considered for the test series against Australia and New Zealand, also in the UAE.

Zaman has recovered from a knee injury after rehabilitation at the National Cricket Academy in Lahore.

"Three openers have been selected in the squad, where Shan Masood has been selected after the retirement of Mohammad Hafeez from test cricket," chief selector Inzamam-ul-Haq said in a statement.

"Mohammad Amir makes a comeback in the team after regaining his form in domestic cricket, giving strength to the fast bowling attack that includes four pace bowlers."

The other three fast bowlers were Shaheen Afridi, Hasan Ali, and Mohammad Abbas.

Mohammad Rizwan was the reserve wicketkeeper to skipper Sarfraz Ahmed. Inzamam said Rizwan impressed in domestic cricket and for Pakistan A against New Zealand and the England Lions in the UAE.

Legspinner Shadab Khan replaced Bilal Asif, who has been dropped after taking only seven wickets during the three-test series against New Zealand.

The first test against South Africa starts at Centurion on Dec. 26. The second test at Cape Town is from Jan. 3-7 followed by the last test at Johannesburg from Jan. 11-15.


Pakistan: Imam-ul-Haq, Fakhar Zaman, Shan Masood, Azhar Ali, Haris Sohail, Asad Shafiq, Babar Azam, Sarfaraz Ahmed (captain), Mohammad Rizwan, Yasir Shah, Shadab Khan, Muhammad Abbas, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Amir, Faheem Ashraf, Shaheen Afridi.