newsdog Facebook

Inter-University Handball Tournament comes under scanner

Hitavada 2018-12-05 10:55:09


By Partha Sarathi Behera,


Many players were deprived of representing their respective universities in the tournament on the pretext of ‘unconfirmed’ rules

East Zone Inter University Handball Tournament 2018-19, underway at Veer Kunwar Singh University (VKSU) of Ara in Bihar, had come under scanner after many players were deprived of representing their respective universities. A total of 28 university teams, including a 16-member team of Pt Ravishankar Shukla University (PRSU), had participated in the tournament being hosted by the VKSU.
Like PRSU, some other universities had sent 16-member team to the tournament.

However, the hosts entertained only 12 players of a team by declaring the remaining four members ineligible to play the tournament on the pretext of rules. Even as the extra players were allowed to stay with the team, the organisers had no answer to the mental harassment the players suffered.  It is worthwhile to mention, 16 members in a team had been allowed in the handball tournaments hosted by different universities before this. Ironically, none of the team managers raised their voice of concern against the dictatorship of the hosts.

When asked about the rules, PRSU Physical Education Director Dr Vipin Sharma said, “So far our university had been sending 16-member team to every tournament. I don’t think the Association of Indian Universities (AIU) has made any changes in the rules in the recent past. I had talks with the Physical Education Department Director of Veer Kunwar Singh University, Ara over the issue. However, he was not ready to declare 16 members eligible to play matches.”

When asked if he had any communication with the AIU authorities or the Vice-Chancellor of PRSU, Dr Sharma, surprisingly, replied that he had telephonic communication with the AIU but had not discussed the matter with the PRSU Vice-Chancellor. Dr Sharma did not even consulted with the selection committee of the PRSU before dropping the four players.

It is to be mentioned, one player each from Rawatpura College and Government Nagarjuna Post Graduate College of Science and two players from Durga College were selected in the PRSU team for the tournament.

Meanwhile, talking to The Hitavada, Veer Kunwar Singh University Physical Education Department Director Dr R S Acharya said that he had taken all the team managers into confidence before taking any decision, during a meeting held before the tournament. “I have followed the rules of 1994 which allow only 12 players in a team. I have no idea if there was any amendment made to the rules after 1994. Most of the universities had come with 12-member teams,” said Dr Acharya. The tournament was organised under the committee formed for the same, concluded Dr Acharya.