newsdog Facebook

India vs Windies | Rishabh Pant called-up for ODI squad, Virat Kohli returns as captain

Sports Cafe 2018-10-11 18:34:53

Indian youngster, Rishabh Pant, has been included in the 15-man ODI squad as Virat Kohli will return to lead the Indian team for the upcoming ODI series against the Windies. India is slated to take on Windies in the first ODI match which will be played on October 21 at Guwahati.

BCCI selectors recently announced the 15-man squad that will play West Indies in a total of five one-dayers later this month. And Delhi Daredevils’ player, Rishabh Pant, is in line to make his ODI debut as India gear up to face West Indies in what promises to be a challenging series. 

Virat Kohli, who was rested for the recently concluded Asia Cup campaign, will return to lead the Indian side against WI. Meanwhile, Pant made the cut at the expense of Tamil Nadu’s Dinesh Karthik as second-choice keeper to MS Dhoni. Karthik will be disappointed, as he bagged a decent 109 runs at an average of 54.5 in the Asia Cup campaign. However, Pant’s brilliant 92 in the first Test at Rajkot seemed to have convinced the selectors to give him a chance this time around.

Ravindra Jadeja, who was called up to the Asia Cup squad after an injury to Hardik Pandya, will retain his spot in the side. Kedar Jadhav misses out due to injury while Manish Pandey, who played only just one match in the Asia Cup, managed to retain his place in the squad and will compete with the likes of Ambati Rayudu, KL Rahul and Pant for a spot in the starting matchday squad.

Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan retain their spots as the opening batsmen, and will most likely start the series for the Indians after they impressed in Dubai last month. But the pace attack seems to lack firepower without star bowlers - Bhuvaneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah. Youngster Khaleel Ahmed and Mohammed Shami, along with Shardul Thakur will form the pace trio for the series. Wrist spinning duo of Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav retained their spots as well and will hope to carry on their form from the Asia Cup into this series too. The ODI series begins on October 21 in Guwahati.

Squad for first-two ODIs: Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma (VC), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni (Wk), Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Khaleel Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, KL Rahul