newsdog Facebook

Fifa World Cup 2026 vote: How and when to watch North America vs Morocco voting live

IBTimes India 2018-06-13 15:59:14

File photo of Fifa president Gianni Infantino.Reuters


Hosting rights for the 2026 Fifa World Cup will be awarded on Wednesday, June 13 as the voting for the same is all set to be held at the 68th annual congress in Moscow.

When is the vote and how to watch it live

The Fifa Congress began at 9 am local time, 12:30 pm IST. The voting for the hosting rights is the last item on the agenda and it's expected not to start before 6:30 am ET, 4 pm IST.


The vote will be live streamed on Fifa.com. There is no live television coverage for the same in India.

Who will vote?

Only two bids have been approved for the final vote — one from Morocco and the other, a joint North American bid, involving the United States, Mexico and Canada.

After the 2018 World Cup went to Russia and the 2022 edition went to Qatar, no countries from Europe and Asia were allowed to bid as per Fifa's decision to rotate the quadrennial tournament between continents.


207 off the 2011 Fifa member associations will have a vote each to decide the host of the 2026 edition. The four member countries who are bidding will not be eligible for voting. 104 is the magic number needed for winning the bid.

More to follow...