WhatsApp adds “Block revoke request” feature for curbing misuse of Delete for Everyone option
After increasing the time limit of Delete for Everyone feature to one hour, eight minutes and 16 seconds, WhatsApp could soon come with a “Block revoke request” feature. As per a report by WABetaInfo, the new feature runs in the background of the new beta version of WhatsApp to disallow users with modded version of the app from deleting sent messages long after the deadline, which is said to be working for deleting messages sent three years ago. The new extended deadline for the Delete For Everyone was first rolled out for Android but is now available for iOS and Windows versions as well, says the report.
The new block revoke request feature works by checking the ID for a saved message in the database when a request for deleting a message is received. If the message to be deleted was sent in the last 24 hours, it is deleted, otherwise the request is denied. The new feature makes sure that no one can delete messages older than 24 hours using a modified version of the app. Previously, WhatsApp used to match the received request ID for deleting a message with the original ID of the message. It they matched, the message was deleted without checking for when the message in question was received.
Additionally, the report notes that the app checks whether the message was sent in the last 24 hour as the sender could delete a message for everyone but the recipient’s phone might be turned off. However, if the receiver turns their phone after 24 hours, the revoke request will be invalidated and the message will not be deleted.
WhatsApp could also soon feature a ‘Locked Recording’ feature, which allows users to lock the microphone for recording a voice message without the need to press and hold down on the mic icon. As per a previous report, users will be able to swipe up on the voice recording button to lock it. Currently one needs to press and hold down the recording button for sending a voice message.