newsdog Facebook

International Cricket Council

ICC 2018-02-12 00:00:00

Ellyse Perry, David Warner, Aaron Finch, Jhye Richardson, George Bailey and Beth Mooney have scooped awards at today’s annual Allan Border Medal Ceremony in Melbourne.

Smith was first to receive recognition, with the Test Player of the Year Award capping off a remarkable, record-breaking 12 months in Baggy Green, while the Belinda Clark Award for the premier female cricketer went to Perry.

Smith, who last month was named the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year, became just the third player to win the Allan Border Medal on multiple occasions, joining his predecessors to the Australia thrown, Michael Clarke (four times) and Ricky Ponting (three).

Steve Smith had a stellar year with the bat ... Some would say 'Bradman-esque'

Smith’s first Test Player of the Year award came in 2015, shortly before he succeeded Clarke as national skipper, while Smith’s (32 votes) nearest rival for the 2018 award was off-spinner Nathan Lyon (26). During the voting period, which stretched from Australia’s tour of India to the conclusion of their 4-0 Ashes triumph, Smith was the most prolific batsman in Test cricket, with 1,305 runs at an extraordinary average of 81.56, which included six centuries from 19 innings.

Steve Smith with his Test Player of the Year Award

Allrounder Ellyse Perry won the Belinda Clark Award for the second time, officially confirming her as Australia's best female cricketer. Having claimed the prestigious award in 2016, the 2018 gong rounded off a 12-month period that also saw her named the ICC Cricketer of the Year. The 27-year-old claimed 116 votes and won by a massive 38-vote margin – the same margin that separated the next eight players.

Ellyse Perry poses with the Belinda Clark Award during the 2018 Allan Border Medal

Perry's fantastic year will be best remembered for her double-century in the historic day-night Ashes Test in Sydney, with her 213 not out beefing up her 756 runs across all format, accompanying her 20 wickets at 32. 

David Warner was crowned Australia's best one-day international player for the second successive year. Luckily for the opening batsman, Warner’s below-par returns in the ODI series versus England (73 runs in five innings) were outside of the voting period. Despite recent struggles, Warner averaged 57 with the bat in the 12-month stretch, which ran from January 8 2017. The left-hander accrued 24 votes to win the award by a margin of six, with Smith and allrounder Marcus Stoinis (18 votes each) his nearest contenders.

David Warner poses with the ODI Player of the Year Award during the 2018 Allan Border Medal Ceremony

Usual opener Aaron Finch, who batted at No. 5 against England on Saturday, edged out spinner Adam Zampa and allrounder Moises Henriques to Australia's T20I Player of the Year gong, winning it for the second time.

Rising star Jhye Richardson, who made his ODI debut at the Gabba last month, claimed the Bradman Young Men’s Cricketer of the Year award. His peers rated him as the brightest spark aged 24 or less and who had played 10 or fewer first-class matches during the voting period.

Jhye Richardson poses with the Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year award

Bailey scooped the men's Domestic Player of the Year Award having completed the 12-month voting period as the leading run-scorer across all three formats – the Sheffield Shield, One-Day Cup and Big Bash League. The 35-year-old has not played a Test match since the 2013-14 demolition of England, but he’s given the national selectors a timely reminder of his credentials. Across all competitions, the Tasmanian skipper scored 1,468 runs at a combined average of 52.43, which included three centuries and 11 half-centuries.

Mooney, the recipient of the Women's Domestic Player of the Year, capped off a tremendous year that had already seen her blaze the highest women's T20I score in Australia and crowned the ICC T20I Player of the Year and Emerging Player of the Year. In 15 matches for Brisbane Heat last summer, she notched 482 runs at 43.81 with a strike rate of 115.58 – enough to edge out Australia captain Meg Lanning (502 runs) for the Belinda Clark Award.

Beth Mooney poses with the award for Women's Domestic Player of the Year during 2018 Allan Border Medal Ceremony

Karen Rolton, Norm O'Neill and Ricky Ponting were inducted into the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame during the night. Players and their partners or guests attended the event at the Palladium at Crown with the awards ceremony commencing at 7.30pm AEST.

2018 Allan Border Award winners

Test Player of the Year: Steve Smith
ODI Player of the Year: David Warner
Women's Domestic Player of the Year: Beth Mooney
Men's Domestic Player of the Year: George Bailey
T20 Player of the Year: Aaron Finch
Betty Wilson Young Cricketer: Georgia Redmayne
Bradman Young Cricketer: Jhye Richardson